Roasted Beets and Asparagus with Farro

roasted beets and asparagus with farro - conveganence

I went to the farmer’s market on Saturday, and I found that the offerings were much more plentiful than they were a few weeks ago. I went overboard, as usual. I bought fresh garlic, swiss chard, 2 bunches of asparagus, a bunch of beets, sugar snap peas, purple potatoes, and a lavender plant.  Now all I have to do is eat it. All of it. Well, except for the lavender. That’s for decoration.

roasted beets and asparagus with farro - conveganence

It’s already Tuesday and so far I’ve only used a bit of asparagus for the crepes I made on Sunday. Therefore, I decided to try to kill three birds with one stone by combining the remaining asparagus with the beets and fresh garlic. Short story long, that’s how this dish came to be. I must admit, I have never been a huge fan of beets, but this recipe has converted me. The sweet, tender flavor of the beets paired nicely with the savory roasted asparagus and shallots. The lemon and chive dressing pulls everything together with a light astringent finish. The addition of the farro makes this dish fit for a main course, but you could also serve the veggies over a bed of greens or on their own.

roasted beets and asparagus with farro

Roasted Beets and Asparagus with Farro (and Lemon Chive Dressing)

Serves 2-3

Prep time: about 1 hour

Ingredients:

For the Salad:

1 bunch beets, peeled with tops and bottoms removed

1 bunch asparagus, chopped into 1″ pieces with woody stems broken off

4 large cloves of garlic, minced

1 large shallot, sliced very thin

1.5 C farro (I like Trader Joe’s 10-Minute Farro)

For the Dressing:

1/2 C fresh lemon juice

3-4 tbsp finely chopped chives

4 tbsp olive oil

2 tsp Dijon mustard

2 tbsp nutritional yeast

1 clove garlic, crushed

salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

1. Preheat the oven to 450F. Prepare a baking sheet by sprinkling it with a layer of salt. Place the beets on the salt and bake for 45 minutes. Then, add the asparagus, garlic, and shallots and bake for another 15 minutes.

2. While the beets are baking, prepare the dressing by combining all dressing ingredients in a food processor until well blended. Set aside.

3. Cook the farro according to package directions. Set aside.

4. When the vegetables are roasted, remove the beets from the baking pan and cut into 1″ cubes.  Remove the asparagus and shallots from the pan using a slotted spoon or spatula so you can sift out any excess salt.

5. Divide farro among plates. Top with vegetables and drizzle with dressing. Serve warm. (Although I ended up eating it cold, and it was delicious!)

One response

  1. This all looks so yummy! I’m not usually a huge fan of beets either unless they are in something where I can hardly tell they’re there. I’ll have to try this recipe since I’m a big fan of all the other ingredients…who knows, I may end up being a big beet fan after this!

Leave a Reply

