Pupsicles

pupsicles - conveganence

We’re having a heat wave here in Chicago. The temperatures have been in the 90s the past few days, and have reached over 100 degrees with the heat index. I don’t really mind it, other than the fact that Bikram is out of the question.

I just feel bad for my dogs! Usually we go for a 3-mile walk every day through the Frank Lloyd Wright district. It’s the highlight of their day, and mine. But with this weather, we’ve been restricted to short walks and playtime in the yard. It’s just too doggone hot for anything else.

I wanted to make them a special treat to brighten up these dog days of summer. (Okay, I’ll stop with the puns.) So I combined a few of their favorite foods in the food processor, and froze the mixture into some super cute dog treat molds I had ordered from K-9 Cakery. The treats took me about 5 minutes to make, and they froze solid in about 90 minutes. Best of all, my dogs LOVED them!

My cocker spaniel even ate the entire plate after I photographed it. Oh well, at least it won’t be hard to make more.

pupsicles - conveganence

Zoe and Beau giving their cutest faces to get a pupsicle. How could anyone resist those eyes?

Pupsicles

Prep time: 5-10 minutes, plus 90 minutes freeze time

Ingredients:

2 ripe bananas

1 cup cooked oats

1/3 C carob chips, melted

1/3 C peanut butter

Directions:

Combine all ingredients in a food processor. Pour into molds (or ice cube trays, if you don’t have molds) and freeze for at least 90 minutes. Keep treats in the freezer for storage.

Leave a Reply

